

ISSN 1175-5326 (print edition) ZOOTAXA ISSN 1175-5334 (online edition)



A new species of the Gondwanan centipede *Anopsobius* (Chilopoda: Lithobiomorpha) from New South Wales, Australia

GREGORY D. EDGECOMBE

Australian Museum, 6 College Street, Sydney, NSW 2010, Australia; greged@austmus.gov.au

Abstract

Anopsobius wrighti n. sp., from the New England and Washpool-Gibraltar Range regions of northern New South Wales, is the first Australian species of the Gondwanan genus *Anopsobius* Silvestri, 1899 (Henicopidae: Anopsobiinae). *Anopsobius* is also known from Chile, Argentina, the Falkland Islands, South Africa, New Zealand, and the Chatham and Auckland Islands. The new species is closely related to the New Zealand species *A. neozelanicus* Silvestri, 1909.

Key words: Chilopoda, Lithobiomorpha, Henicopidae, Anopsobiinae, Anopsobius, Anopsobius wrighti, taxonomy

Introduction

Anopsobiinae is a chiefly Southern temperate subfamily within the lithobiomorph family Henicopidae. Gondwanan Anopsobiinae include four named genera, with species having been described from Patagonian Argentina and Chile (Silvestri 1899, 1909a, b; Verhoeff 1939; Chamberlin 1962), the Falkland Islands (Eason 1993), New Zealand (Silvestri 1909a; Archey 1917, 1937), New Caledonia (Ribaut 1923), Tasmania (Chamberlin 1920), southwest Western Australia (Attems 1911), and the Cape region of South Africa (Attems 1928). Four additional monotypic genera (*Rhodobius* Silvestri, 1933; *Anopsobiella* Attems, 1938; *Ghilaroviella* Zalesskaja, 1975; *Shikokuobius* Shinohara, 1982) represent Anopsobiinae in the northern hemisphere. To date, 16 species and subspecies of Anopsobiinae have been described, seven of these assigned to *Anopsobius* Silvestri, 1899. The distribution of this genus includes southern Chile (Silvestri 1899, 1905, 1909a), southern Argentina (Silvestri 1909a), the Falkland Islands (Eason 1993), the Cape region of South Africa (Attems 1928, though possibly an introduction fide Lawrence 1984), New Zealand (Silvestri 1909a; Archey 1917, 1937), the Chatham Islands (Archey 1926) and the Auckland Islands (Johns 1964).